I just finished Hemingway’s “The Sun Also Rises“. I probably shouldn’t have read it. I did simply for the feat of having Hemingway in my head somewhere. At the same time, it’s a modernist piece that reminds me a lot of “Catcher in the Rye” in terms of tone. Maybe a little lighter, but similar.

However, now I’m wishing I had a group of literary friends who sat around, got drunk in interesting places and had bizarre conversations about this or that arbitrary merit – while we all compared progress on artistic endeavors. Manchester, NH isn’t the place for something like that I guess. At least not that I’ve seen so far.

In the meantime, I have to chose my next book. I’ve a couple already begun, and there’s always my Girard books to read… but I’m thinking of finding something different. I always say that. “I want to read something I wouldn’t normally read.” Hemingway was something out of the ordinary. As is the Book of Mormon (something I’m not a big fan of). Maybe I’ll just finish off some of the books I’ve already started.

