I finished it.

*NOTE: I’m assuming you’ve at least seen the book as I write this. If you haven’t, the following might be a little confusing as I’m talking about not only what the book was writen about, but the typesetting that MZD is famous for and actually is part of the story.

That was one of the best books I’ve read in a while. And what’s more, while it had a couple of the same tricks as House of Leaves, it was definitely a creature all to itself. True, you have labyrinthian architecture within HoL, but this is psychological architecture that near literally draws out Sam and Hailey for you. Their egos are matched by the font size and how much of the page they take up. Their mirrored retellings of the same story leaves us with a pretty good impression of how it actually went. All in all, it was a damn good story.

But back to the mirroring. There is so much echo-oriented symmetry in this book it’s scary. Especially towards the end of the book I found myself rereading the prior half of the page upside down, finding corresponding elements that nearly prophecied the end. It was unbelievable. The most innocent of statements in the beginning of the book seems to become the hinge that held the whole thing together.

Because without her I am only revolutions of ruin.

Jars of honey, a million different cars, plants, animals, Them, and the Creep… a cross country trip that covers more as much time as Navidson’s house had space.

Now on to “The Tibetan Book of the Dead”

