“Only Revolutions” Mark Z Danielewski – This has got to be the best love story I could ever imagine. At least for me. I know MZD isn’t for everyone, but “you were there and suddenly the world was worth it.” So true. I have yet to understand the full extent of this novel, but when I feel like I have a better grasp I’ll post some more commentary.

“The Tibetan Book of the Dead” – Bardo, as far as I understand, is a word meaning gap. This gap is particularly the gap between death and life… and despite the common meanings, not about physical death so much. What is drawing me towards really reading this finally is how bardo is used. Before the actual text is a commentary by someone probably more important than I know. He claims the books could be referred to as a “book of space”. Liminal spaces exist as bardo, and the contact with this teaching supposedly can help one through bardo into birth. Which of course reminds me of EE Cummings’ “Introduction” about the importance of being born infinitely as opposed to clinging to the womb.

“The Poetics of Space” Bachelard – A book I’ve been meaning to read for some time. It was cited in Danielewski’s “House of Leaves” (one of the few that actaully exist) and I had found it interesting anyway. However, it is French philosophy so as a rule, it’s awkward. I’m still in the introduction unfortunately, so I’m being bogged down in generalizations I don’t want to experience.

“Warped Passages” Lisa Randall – I’ve always been interested in higher dimensions, especially since it was a book on them (“Hyperspace” Michio Kaku) that turned my brain on to a knowledge-pursuing existence. I’m slowing down a little with this one with all the anti-string-theory ideas popping up. String theory is all I know really, and not very well at that. So I don’t want to become to indoctrinated in one direction yet.

And for those who read this – a list of books that have been on my mind though I’ve either read them or know enough of them that I have put them to the side for now.

“House of Leaves” MZD
“A Separate Reality” Carlos Casteneda
“Koran”
“The Bible” New Oxford Annotated (of course)
“Zohar”

